UEFA Nations League explained

The UEFA Nations League is a new competition for international teams in Europe that pits teams in competitive games against nations who are ranked similarly to them.

All 55 UEFA members will take part in the new competition, with the countries being divided into four leagues according to their UEFA coefficient ranking. Each league is divided into four playing groups containing three or four teams. Teams will play each other at home and away in September, October and November 2018.

The winners of the four groups in league A will qualify for the finals the following summer. Which include two semi-finals, a third-place play-off and a final. The winner of the final will receive the nations league trophy.

Promotion and relegation will feature in the competition. Group winners of leagues B, C and D will be promoted, and bottom placed teams in groups from leagues A, B and C will be relegated.

The Logo for the new UEFA Nations League that will start in September of this year Credit:

All group winners from each of the four leagues will qualify for the European Qualifier play-offs. The play-offs will be split into four groups of four teams. There will be two semi-finals and a final in each group. The winner of each final will take the last four slots at Euro 2020.

The 39 Nations who do not win their groups will go into the traditional European Qualifiers for Euro 2020.

The Republic of Ireland, who have been put into League B, have been drawn against familiar foes Wales and Denmark and kick off their campaign in Cardiff on the 6th of September 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *