Poor start to the NHL for Dublin hurlers

Dublin-Galway hurling

                                                      (Photo: Sharon Martin)

Dublin got their Allianz National Hurling League campaign off to a disappointing start with a heavy defeat against Galway.

The 2011 champions were completely outplayed and lost with a final scoreline of 0-28 to 1-12 at Pearse Stadium.

Dublin had started well, scoring the first two points of the match through David O’Callaghan and a Mark Schutte placed ball.

However, Galway soon levelled from two Conor Cooney frees, before then taking the lead through Davy Glennon on six minutes, after Dublin had survived a goal scare moments earlier.

Paul Ryan tied up the game from a free before Galway took over, outscoring the Leinster champions by 0-13 to 0-1 as the clock ticked towards first half injury time. Cathal Mannion, Niall Healy and Jason Flynn were all impressive in the Tribesmen’s attack.

Alan McCrabbe pointed two frees to cut the deficit back to ten points before the break.

The second half continued on in the same vein, with Galway dominant and Dublin disappointing. Things got even worse for the Dubs as Conal Keaney picked up a second yellow card and was sent off after 42 minutes.

Galway continued to pick off scores at will and Dublin manager Anthony Daly will be disappointed at his side’s inability to get closer to the Tribesmen. The only positive for Dublin was the performance of substitute Sean McGrath, who scored 1-01 when he came on for Ryan O’Dwyer after 59 minutes.

Dublin will have a chance to pick themselves up next week with a home game against All Ireland champions Clare, who enjoyed a one point win over Kilkenny in Ennis. In the other game Tipperary defeated Waterford in Thurles on Saturday night.

DUBLIN: G Maguire; C O’Callaghan, P Kelly, S Timlin; S Hiney, L Rushe, M Carton; R O’Dwyer (0-01), J McCaffrey; C Keaney D Treacy, D Sutcliffe; D O’Callaghan (0-03), P Ryan (0-02, 2f), M Schutte (0-01). Subs: A McCrabbe (0-04, 4f) for Ryan (31 mins), C Cronin for Ryan (31 mins), E Dillon for Treacy (36 mins), C McCormack for Hiney (50 mins), S McGrath (1-01, 1f) for O’Dwyer (59 mins)

GALWAY: C Callanan; F Moore, R Burke, J Coen; D Collins (0-01), I Tannian, A Harte (0-01); D Burke, P Brehony (0-02); C Cooney (0-06, 5f), J Glynn (0-04), J Flynn (0-03); C Mannion (0-04), N Healy (0-06,1f), D Glennon (0-01). Subs: R Cummins for Glennon (50 mins), P Landers for Mannion (59 mins), D Burke for Tannian (59 mins), K Hynes for Burke (64 mins), D Dolan for Glynn (67 mins)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *