Dubs ensure spot in Division 1B final

Dublin hurlers have secured their place in the Allianz National Hurling League Division 1B final, following a 3-15 to 0-11 win over Carlow on Sunday.
Dublin’s convincing win in Parnell Park was sprinkled with highs and lows. The amount of possession held by the Blues will be a huge advantage. However the lack of conversion into scores will definitely be a worry for the management team.
Goals from Niall McMorrow and Kevin Byrne were ultimately the difference between the teams on a day when Daly’s men clocked up 17 wides.
McMorrow’s second goal in the 58th minute gave Dublin the momentum to drive on and finish out the game impressively, with points from Paul Ryan, David Treacy and Simon Lambert.
The changes to the structure of the Hurling league made by the GAA in 2011 means the Dubs will face Limerick in the Division 1B final, the winners of which will book a place in the Division 1 final to decide the overall winner.
The winners of this game will also be promoted to Division 1A for next year’s season. This will be the aim for Anthony Daly and his men as they were disappointingly relegated to Division 1B in 2012, having been crowned League champions the year before.
Dublin will take on Limerick at 7pm on Saturday night in Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *