Tipperary take the title

by Cian McKiernan

Croker Panorama

Tipperary were crowned All Ireland minor hurling champions after beating Dublin in a somewhat disappointing final.

After their thrilling first encounter, this replay was a damp squib as Tipperary outclassed Dublin comprehensively beating them 2-18 to 1-11.

Jack Roche came in for Caolan Conway in Dublin’s only change from the first match although dual stars Cormac Costello and Eric Lowndes had both picked up slight knocks.

Tipperary made one change to their team, bringing in Dylan Fitzelle for Stephen O’Brien at centre-forward.

This match proved a lot easier for the Premier County as they hit only two wides over the whole 60 minutes.

Indeed, Dublin must be ruing their missed chance to beat Tipperary 3 weeks ago in a game that they should have had won by half time and have now lost the last two minor finals.

In the opening 10 minutes, both teams traded points before Mark McCarthy raced through the Dublin defence from the 45-yard line to score a goal at the second attempt after being hooked.

John McGrath put over a 65 soon after to put Tipperary five points ahead.

Tipperary then reinforced their lead through a goal from Man of the Match Tadhg Gallagher after Dublin had pulled back two points.

Tipperary began to pull away notching five unanswered points to put the score at 2-10 to 0-5 at half time.

McGrath, who finished the day with a point’s tally of 0-10, and Gallagher added more scores for Tipperary in the second half with captain Bill Maher also getting in on the scoring action.

An Oisin O’Rourke goal in the 52nd minute put a gloss on the score line for Dublin but this was a match in which they were thoroughly beaten as Tipperary were secured their first minor title since 2007.

Photo by féileacán on flikr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *