And the award goes to…

Meteor Choice Music Prize

By Greg Synnott

It’s time for the Choice Music Prize once again. This year judges will be zoning in on the best Irish albums from 2011 with a slight twist: Meteor, the sponsors of the prize, have introduced the song of the year category, decided by the public through text voting to 085711444 or on the Meteor Facebook page.

This year the ceremony takes place at The Olympia Theatre on Thursday 8th March with all 10 bands performing live. Tickets for the show are on sale for €22.50 and can be bought exclusively from  You could also be one of the lucky winners on Meteor’s Facebook Page, where they are holding daily competitions.

The 10 bands will be hoping to walk away with the €10,000 cash prize decided by 11 industry experts

The prize was established in 2005 to highlight those albums “which deserve some extra time in the spotlight and, ultimately, to select the album which best sums up the year in Irish music,” the organisers say.

“The ethos behind the prize is to stimulate debate and interest in Irish artists and Irish Music and to increase public awareness of music from Ireland annually.”

The shortlist for Irish Album of The Year is:

  • And So I Watch You From Afar – Gangs  (Richter Collective)
  • Bell X1 – Bloodless Coup  (Belly Up Records)
  • Cashier No 9 – To The Death of Fun  (Bella Union)
  • Lisa Hannigan – Passenger  (Hoop)
  • The Japanese Popstars – Controlling Your Allegiance  (EMI)
  • Jape – Ocean of Frequency  (Music Is For Losers)
  • Patrick Kelleher & His Cold Dead Hands – Golden Syrup  (Osaka Records)
  • Pugwash – The Olympus Sounds  (EMI/1969 Records)
  • Tieranniesaur – Tieranniesaur  (Popical Island)
  • We Cut Corners Today I Realised I Could Go Home Backwards  (Delphi)


The shortlist for Irish Song of The Year is

  • Bell XI – Velcro (Belly Up Records)
  • Cashier No 9 – Goldstar (Bella Union)
  • The Coronas – Addicted to Progress (3U Records)
  • Lisa Hannigan – Knots (Hoop)
  • The Kanyu Tree – Radio (Sony Music)
  • Little Green Cars – The John Wayne (Self Released)
  • Royseven – We Should be Lovers (Warner Music)
  • Maverick Sabre – Let Me Go (Universal)
  • Snow Patrol – Called Out In The Dark (Universal)
  • This Club – I Won’t Worry (Warner Music)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *